Posted by: chptr37 | 04/30/2009

Pg. 30: One Down, 11 To Go

img_1040

My new home sweet home. Fourth floor, on the right. She’s gorgeous and comfy and forgiving and bright. Just like a great friend.

Stats:

  • Weather: Pouring, pouring, pouring! Gah!
  • Miles Walked: Are you kidding?
  • Discovery: It rains in Scotland. A lot. (I’m pretending I didn’t already know that…)
  • Media: Notes From a Small Island, Bill Bryson
  • Worst Thing: All the bad news from home: two illnesses, a job lost, other things.
  • Best Thing: Friends who love me even when I’m a million miles away.
  • Quote of the Day: “My flaws are bigger than your flaws. We could have an arm wrestle over it.” Did I mention I adore my friends?
  • Word of the Day: Widney (although I think it’s actually spelled ‘widnay’). Means ‘wouldn’t’ or ‘would not.’

*

I realized just as I was sitting down to figure out what I wanted to write about today, that this is the close of the first month of Chapter 37. It seems a good time to take inventory, and see where I’ve been and what I’ve done so far. Of course, there was the wild race across the country, hitting 20 states in two weeks. Got to spend time with my family. Hit three countries. Found my new living space. Started writing again. I’ve learned some of ‘new’ language, and I’ve mostly gotten the hang of a new monetary system. Pounds and pences. Although I have to admit I still have no idea what a quid is… (or even if that’s how it’s spelled).

My biggest regret is that I didn’t have time to see friends along the way. Not a single one. It was an awesome discovery to realize I had friends all along the way — people who wanted to spend time with me, who were willing to put me up for a night or two, who offered to drive out of their way (and sometimes out of their state) to meet up with me. Friends all over, truly. Friends from all my combined walks of life, too, which I love. I have writer friends. And coffee friends. Nervy Girl friends. Erotica friends. Family friends. Gamer friends. Friends with no category. Friends with many categories. I’d love to get them all together in one place. Introduce them across their groups. Listen to the stories and the laughter. See all the styles and mannerisms and languages and diversity they’d bring. Maybe for my 40th birthday party…

Bu for now, they’re scattered all over the earth, which also makes me grateful for the technology that brings and keeps us together. Blogs, emails, IM, texts… I doubt I’d lose my friends during the process if I couldn’t communicate with them in some way, but it sure is nice to know they’re just a few taps of a keyboard away.

Technology doesn’t just bring good news, of course. Today, it brings news of the loss of a job. It brings more news of a friend who’s been having tremors and just found out she has a benign tumor in her brain. The news of another friend whose beloved partner has cancer. In these situations, technology only goes so far. I can’t be there for them the way I could if I were closer. But the distance doesn’t change the way we feel about each other. It doesn’t change anything, at all.

Maybe that’s the call of true friendship. As my gorgeous and smart friend, AT says, (and I’m paraphrasing), “Friends should get carte blanche.” She’s also the funny one who said she had more flaws that me. I have to agree with the first, and argue vehemently against the second. I’ve got more flaws than all of my friends put together, I’d guess. And look at that — the suckers like me anyway. I am a truly lucky, lucky girl.

Far and fast, ideally with friends, s.

*


“Only your real friends will tell you when your face is dirty.”  ~Sicilian Proverb

Responses

  1. Hell, I would love to meet some of your friends! I feel rather bummed about the current situations that have been happening and I hope for the best in all of em.

  2. A quid is the same thing as a pound. (A quid is to a pound like a buck is to a dollar.)

    🙂

  3. Darlin’, I’m willing to bet that most, if not all, of your friends would consider themselves to be the lucky ones.

  4. Fortieth birthday party at Shanna’s place!!

    Actually, I turn 50 the year you turn 40 … so after we trash your place, we can move the party here.

    [Wow, I think that’s the first time I’ve typed “I turn 50.” It looks very weird. Perhaps I’ve miscalculated … ; ) ]


Leave a Reply

Categories

