Posted by: Shanna Germain | 05/19/2009

Pg. 49: Dear Deer,

IMG_1698

Summer’s coming to the Isle (or so I’ve been promised!). Time to get things into ship-shape.

Stats:

  • Weather: Fabu.
  • Mileage: Four miles, plus.
  • Discovery: I have fantastic friends. Actually, I already knew that.
  • Media: Hancock. Wow, it was so odd to watch a movie, even if it was just on the computer.
  • Worst Thing: Wet shoes. Wet socks. Wet toes.
  • Best Thing: Salmon. Salmon. Salmon.
  • Quote of the Day: “Are you a writer?” Damn, pegged already by the woman at the coffee shop.
  • Word of the Day: Please allow me to introduce the Robert Burns Scottish Glossary.

*

Walking along in the mid-dusk tonight, a flash of brown and white. Lone deer slipping down the slippery slope of the bank. Not scared at all, just … walking. Like me. Nearing supper. And possibly, a place to sleep.

I stopped on the trail to peer down at him. Not very big, but good-sized horns, all fuzzy and branched, like twigs covered in moss. He stared back, big brown eyes, chewing a tree leaf. We stood that way for the longest time, creature and creature. Me breathing. Him nibbling. And then the light changed, and voices came down from the far end of the trail, and I left him there.

Far and fast, s.

*

My heart’s in the Highlands, my heart is not here,
My heart’s in the Highlands, a-chasing the deer;
Chasing the wild-deer, and following the roe,
My heart’s in the Highlands, wherever I go.

~My Heart’s in the Highlands (song by Robert Burns)

*

Responses

  1. How cool was that? We have a lot of deer here in now (hold onto your wet socks) warm, nearly hot Wisconsin (don’t worry it’s supposed to be mid-60’s the entire weekend)

    There is one young doe who stood at the edge of the woods until her curiosity was too great and she walked to the road to take a peek at something ( hell if I know I went out and looked too after she got scared off, must have been a pebble)

    She was all legs and gorgeous eyes with lashes to heaven! They are such innocent creatures… until rut, then all bets are off ;p

    Keep gathering your treasure dear and thank you for sharing them with us.

    /huggles

    • It was awesome, actually! I love it when you can get so close, and no one’s scared.

      And, yes the eyes. Like Jersey eyes. So gorgeous πŸ™‚

  2. How wonderful to hear about your adventures! I look forward to reading more. (You are living my dream!) Just so you know, Saskia sent me. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Lexi!

      Thanks so much for swinging by (and thanks to Saskia for sending you πŸ™‚

      I checked out your site — it’s really great. I bet you’ll get to Scotland to live!

  3. Someday, somehow I will! Take care and I’ll be back often. (And thanks for stopping by my site too!)

    • Oh, yes, send something! I’ll keep hassling you πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

