Posted by: Shanna Germain | 05/21/2009

Pg. 51: Hell’s Waistcoat

IMG_1805

Yet another gorgeous, but seemingly unused, church. With flowers.

Stats:

  • Weather: I now understand why everyone here talks about the weather so much.
  • Mileage: Six in one blow! Wait, that’s a fairy tale. But I did manage six miles today, all in one round trip. One hour and forty minutes. I stopped to look at the shells. -grins a bit-
  • Discovery: Leaning out the window with a headset on… bad idea.
  • Media: This, shared by my friend Vincent. You don’t even have to like horses to know that this is… just phenomenal. Also, D&D by Stephen Lynch. I’d marry that man, I think.
  • Worst Thing: There is this dog… in the flat below me. That barks. A lot. Not so bad usually, but he/it was coming down the stairs today while I was coming up… and we scared each other. He barked, I, uh, screeched a little… and holy shit, I nearly fell backward off the stairs.
  • Best Thing: Cracking a tough plot spot on the GLBT horror story I’m working on.
  • Quote of the Day: Overheard at the coffee shop: “Without mincing words, she’s a bleep bleep bleep bleep bleep bleep.” Yes, he actually said the word “bleep.”
  • Word of the Day: Black as the Earl of Hell’s Waistcoat. Pitch black. Note: I don’t think this saying is in use anymore, but I just loved it so much. I think I’ll make it into a story title.

*

Lately, I’ve begun to notice that my sleep schedule since I arrived in Scotland has been a little…whonky. First it was all the naps (which I’ve since outgrown, thank goodness.) Now, I have a hard time pulling myself out of bed in the mornings. And I find I’m often up until the wee hours of the morning.

The hard-to-rise thing makes sense: mornings are cold here. And gray. And often wet. Under the down comforter is a very fine place to be. Some mornings I think that if someone would just bring me a cup of coffee (and, later, some lunch), I could stay in bed all day long with a book.

But then, night comes. I’m writing a lot. I’m walking a lot — not just my big treks, but up and down the stairs, all over town — and I’m tired. Or I should be. But I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why I couldn’t seem to drag myself to bed.

Then I began to notice the light. I’m always looking at the sunset out the window–it’s a gorgeous view, and ever-changing. And, I realized this evening, it’s ever-late. I paid attention to the light here and it doesn’t get dark until 9:30. Let me say it again: 9:30! That’s just semi-dark, truly. Pitch black happens at about, well, right now. It’s 11:16 PM.

All of which, I think, would explain a wee bit of my sleeping dilemma. It would also likely explain why dinner tends to happen at about 9:30 or 10, instead of a semi-functional hour.

The truth is, I don’t mind the sleeping late, nor the going to bed late. Especially now that I have an idea why that might be. So, tonight I’m planning to hit the hay about 1 a.m. And tomorrow? Well, if one of you kind people would just fly over and then take the train and the ferry to the isle and bring me a cup of coffee, I’d much appreciate it.

Don’t worry–you don’t have to be here until, say, 11 am? I doubt I’ll be awake before then anyway.

Tucked in bed, s.

*

“All that we see or seem, Is but a dream within a dream.” -Edgar Allan Poe

Responses

  1. ‘morning-
    You must be even farther north than we are here! Last night I finally came inside ( it was soooo beautiful out! ) and discovered than it was 9:30! It was pretty dark then, but I could see to take the dogs outside without the porch light. I LOVE it! Doesn’t everyone eat dinner when it’s dark? 🙂
    Actually I made dinner early, so we could go walk around after eating. Also you know you live in the country when……the neighbors notice you didn’t walk with your daughter for 2 nights! I had yard work to do! I WAS walking. Wish you could walk with us here….I’ll look at the “album cover” photo again. Use that one for the CD cover for the quartet?
    Hugs & Kisses,
    C.

    • I’m glad you’re having nice weather for a change!

      I miss walking with you guys 😦 You and Chels would love the walks here… wow. Although all the hills do kick my butt. That’s good right?


Leave a Reply

Categories

