Posted by: Shanna Germain | 05/26/2009

Insert 1: Gina Marie

Welcome to the first Insert in Chapter 37! I called for your photos and tales from around the world — you answered. Boy, did you answer. I love the way my inbox looks, all full of photos and notes, from all the creative, smart, joyous, adventurous, incredible people in my life. I’m going to post them in the order they were received, just to make it fair (and don’t forget–if you haven’t sent me something, do so. Now. Or later. Anytime! This is going to be an ongoing feature).

*

Gina Marie was one of my first editors ever, way back when. I mean way back when. I had two editors at the time — Gina and Nancy, this other fantastic teacher/editor/writer. They’ve both remained in my life, both still writing fantastic things, both still pushing forward though this word-life that we’re trying to make.

When I worked with Gina, she taught me how to choose my words a little more carefully (I’ll never forget her trying to explain the difference between “overgrown” and “oversized”), how to write under a deadline, how to not pad my stories with a bunch of crap. She taught me lots of things that didn’t have anything to do with writing: how to stand up for what you believe in, no matter the cost or how many people said you shouldn’t. She taught me that laughter is amazing medicine and that great friends stay friends through everything. Everything.

Since then, she’s taught me a whole lot more. I learn from her every day.

Now, if she’d just teach me how to look that fantastic in a golf outfit (and I happen to know for a fact that she doesn’t even play golf… the brat!)

At the gorgeous age of forty (Can I say that? Well, I am now!), she’s living a new dream: writing. playing. running. cooking. laughing. You can see what she’s doing here if you’re interested. (Note of caution: Like so many of my friends, Gina’s life includes divine nudity, hot writing, sexy ferns, buttered buns and more, so if any of this stuff offends you, don’t go and visit her. Or, do go and visit, but only with an open mind).

Here’s to long-term friendships, flying ’round the world on little more than imagination and a dream, and a life filled with joy and laughter.

Far in flight, s.

*

Superhero

Hi Shannalicious,

As soon as I saw this beautiful phone booth at the Scottish themed golf resort near Mount Hood I thought of you. And as soon as I thought of you, I wanted to come visit. So I went in and spun around and tried to fly out, but fell from the sky like a baby buzzard only a couple of feet after takeoff. What’s that flying secret of yours again? I want the magic suit and that big letter “S” on my chest….and a way to get to you fast.

–Gina

*

“In the name of the best within you, do not sacrifice this world to those who are its worst. In the name of the values that keep you alive, do not let your vision of man be distorted by the ugly, the cowardly, the mindless in those who have never achieved his title. Do not lose your knowledge that man’s proper estate is an upright posture, an intransigent mind and a step that travels unlimited roads. Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark, in the hopeless swamps of the approximate, the not-quite, the not-yet, the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish, in lonely frustration for the life you deserved, but have never been able to reach. Check your road and the nature of your battle. The world you desired can be won, it exists, it is real, it is possible, it’s yours.” ~Ayn Rand

Responses

  1. You’re missed by golfers and baby buzzards the world round

    • Aw! I miss the golfers and baby buzzards too!!!!

  2. Hi Missy,

    You’re the sweetest. And yes, you can say I’m 40, because that’s the magic number. Woot! I’ve learned a thing or two from you, ya know. You brought art back into my life way back when, and it stayed there, even if it was only the tiniest ember at times. But we all know that a spark is all it takes.

    –Gina

    • 40 is the magic number! You can be a cougar now! 🙂

      And yeah for art. It would have been the world’s loss if you’d stopped doing it. I know this for a fact.

  3. Oh what fun, I can’t wait to see more of your garden of friends!

    • Aren’t they fabulous?! You’re up next to send me something! -pokes and prods-

      • Ouch.. okay.. fine ;p

        PS: did S give you that hug from me yet and vice versa?

  4. This is such a great idea, St. Germain! 🙂

    • Glad you think so! Now you’re up too! -pokes-

  5. Yay, Gina Marie!!

    I think the way to get from a golf resort to a friend’s overseas home is to “address the ball,” then hitch a ride when the mail carrier takes it away.


Leave a Reply

Categories

