Posted by: Shanna Germain | 05/29/2009

Insert 4: Daki

Insert 4. And we keep on traveling around the world of friends and family. Today’s Insert comes from the big, big state of Texas…

*

Many of you know I’m a writer, a traveler, a loud laugher and a general geek. What you may not know is that I’m also a gamer. I got interested in video games a long time ago, back when Centipede and Frogger were the big hits, and I’ve continued that tradition, dipping into games when time allowed and as long as my interest held. A few years ago, I started getting interested in the role of women and video games, from both a feminist and gamer perspective, and I started playing more online, interactive games. Since then, I’ve discovered that many of my favorite people are gamers. Gamers typically have sciency-geeky mindsets, big hearts and minds, and, most importantly, wicked senses of humor.

Daki is no exception to that rule. I met him when he was playing a swashbuckling, drunken brigand type character (for those who don’t speak geek speak, that’s kind of like a pirate) in an online game called Everquest 2. There’s a generation of people who meet a lot of their friends this way — online. I’m older than most of them, but that never stopped them from letting me become part of their world. Daki and I were friends in-game for a long time — we even ran a successful guild together with a bunch of other friends (yes, I’ll stop with the geekiness now… I swear!).

Earlier this year, I had the chance to meet him in person. We. Had. A. Blast. We took a sing-a-long road trip, missed the Texas rodeo due to traffic and went to a movie instead, gabbed about anything and everything over a few games of cards, and just generally made each other laugh for hours. Daki always reminds me that honesty and directness are great ways of moving through the world, that a good laugh and an off-key lyric make everything better, and that Flogging Molly might be the best drinking band ever.

Loud and lyrical, s.

PS – He’s always called me Peach, by the way, due to some joke when we first met that made us laugh for hours, but which neither of us can remember now.

*

6595

*

Here ya go Peach!

I figured that since you’re sharing your friends with us, I should share some of my friends with everybody! This picture here was taken at my mother’s wedding and it’s me (on the left, of course), my little bro and my two new stepbrothers. And what makes this picture a little more special is that it was taken all of a minute before we turned around and tossed Bobby (Little Bro) into the lake behind us.

Ahhh, good times.

Daki

*

β€œFind a happy place! Find a happy place! Find a happy place!” ~Peach (the starfish) in Finding Nemo, when Darla taps madly on the tank glass trying to knock Peach off

Responses

  1. /em clap

    No. Wait. I have ointment for that.

    ANYWAY *coughs* HEY!! I know you!!!

    Great – peer pressure … just what I need!!!

    /winks

    • Oh! Send some ointment here! It’s too expensive to buy πŸ™‚

  2. Oh damn! Such compliments! I do believe I’m blushing! Though I am honored to join your parade o’ friends. And you are welcome down here anytime, there’s always a G&T and Flogging Molly waiting for you.

    Oh and I thought I’d add that I still can’t remember where the Peach thing came from!

    • Not just Molly, but also Foxtrot Uniform (Unicorn!) Charlie Kilo. Gotta’ love that band πŸ™‚

  3. *jealous* Alright that’s it. I’s gonna shares photoz now so I can has awesome things said…

    • You have to pay for the awesome things, I’m afraid… πŸ™‚

  4. I wrote a story last year in which one character dubs the other “Peach”–because she’s wearing a peach-colored dress when they first meet. But it sounds like your “Peach” backstory is much more interesting than that relatively prosaic rationale. If either of you remember it at 3:00 in the morning (local time), please phone us all!

    • Oooh Jeremy, I liked that story a lot. I’m gonna’ call you now, since the nut has been cracked, as it were (see below!)

  5. Tsk. I swear, it’s horrible when I have to remind you of -your- own in-joke.

    Daki, I know you’re reading this, back me up on this one: The original reason escapes me, but ‘Peach’ also refers to the ‘I could eat a peach for hours..’ line from Face/Off.

    You said it over EQII, and I think, we all laughed for a good month or so. And it stuck.

    • Hehehehehe, ya know Ray, I think you’re right! That most definately sounds like something I would say.

    • -shushes him-

      How can you remember that when you can’t remember -anything- else, ever?

      But, yes, oddly enough, I think you’re right. It was during the sushi and peaches conversation, I think. One of the many.

  6. Thanks, Shanna aka Peach!!

    Sorry I missed your call, but I’ll make up for it by calling your mist. (I just have to wait for the next foggy day in Scotland town.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

