Posted by: Shanna Germain | 06/15/2009

Pg. 76: Charlotte Bronte-esque

Stats:

  • Weather: “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine, you make me happy when skies are grey, you’ll never know, dear…” -lets her voice trail off- “something much I something… can’t remember the words”
  • Mileage: About 5. Not half bad for the sicky. Seems to work better if I split it in two.
  • Discovery: Dark chocolate with raspberries. This is a re-discovery. Hella yum.
  • Media: True Blood, season 2, episode 1. Thank you illegal (?) internet!
  • Worst Thing: There is a fly the size of a large bird in my flat. Its buzzing is driving me… mad. How can these creatures get in the windows that are barely cracked open, but not be able to get themselves out even though the windows are now all open as wide as they go? It. Must. Die.
  • Best Thing: Tumeric. I am in love love love with this spice. I’m putting it on everything.
  • Quote of the Day: “Watch the dog. He’s a leaner. He’ll lean on you until he pushes you right over.”
  • Word of the Day: Dreich. A dull and miserable day?

*

When I describe what I’m doing to “normal” people (by which, I mean most non-writers and not a single one of my friends, because thankfully, none of my friends are normal), they look at me like I’m mad. Let me get this straight, their expression says, you’ve moved to a secluded, wild island in the middle of nowhere, where you don’t know anyone and you don’t have a job and the nearest landmass is a forty-minute ferry ride and you’re going to stay there for six months? Right….

To which I nod and say, “Yep!”

But when I tell my writer and editor friends what I’m doing, they nod more or less knowingly. And then they say things like, “Sounds wonderfully romantic and Charlotte Bronte-like!” Which, if you ask me, is bloody awesome. (Segue: I dressed up one year for Halloween as Jane Eyre. No one knew who I was — this was long before there were any movies about the time period — which just about sealed my geek-fate for the rest of my days.)

So, yes, I am a cross between Charlotte Bronte and, possibly, Rapunzel. Leaning down out of my fourth-floor tower, long wild hair falling down, seeing what there is to write about outside my walls.

Which, as it turns out, is quite a lot.

Far and fast, s.

*

With blue, uncertain, stumbling buzz,
Between the light and me;
And then the windows failed, and then
I could not see to see.

~Emily Dickinson, “I heard a fly buzz when I died”

Responses

  1. I’m betting that many of your writer friends are damn jealous of you getting to do this too. Six months, just walk and write and not have to work? Duh!

    • Yeah, well they were probably really jealous… it’s why I got the Lyme’s. Figured it would even things out! šŸ™‚

  2. Sheesh, some dogs just don’t get metaphors. I mean, they’re supposed to figure out which people are “pushovers,” but they’re not supposed to take it literally!

    • I know, right! After all, as one of my friends always says, “It’s a doggie-doggie world.” (Yes, I’ve tried to explain the ‘real’ phrase, but to no avail).

  3. You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy, when skies are gray. You’ll never know dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away.

    The other night, dear. While I lie sleeping, I dreamt I held you in my arms. When I awoke, dear, I was mistaken. So I hung my head and I cried (repeat from the top)

    My mom used to sing this to me and for some reason I can’t sing it aloud without getting choked up.

    Come to think of it, my mom sang me a lot of sad songs…..

    /shrugs & hugs

    ;p

    • Ok, Annie, you just made me tear up! Not very nice!

      -pouts big-time and hopes she gets a cookie-

      But I love the singing!

      • You can haz cookie /snuggles

  4. My non-writer friends who are historical re-creationists have a similar reaction: Their eyes glaze over and I’m pretty sure they have little orgasms before they come back to reality.

    My own reaction, of course, wavers between orgasmic and hair-curlingly envious. šŸ˜‰

    • Oh! Haha. Yep, I can just imagine all of that! šŸ™‚

      Yes, but you have… mmm… thai food. pizza. real coffee…

      -goes off into some kind of food coma of her own-

      • I know, I know. It’s a failing of mine: I always want what I can’t have, and in the process I turn a blind eye to the aspects I hate about the thing I currently want.

        I didn’t miss coffee over there (already having been a tea snob), but I missed Thai, and sushi, and Mexican. And real, chock-full-of-yummy-things salad (we once went to Cardiff just to got to the TGI Fridays so I could have a “real” salad). Then again, I miss my favorite Indian restaurant in Newport, and kebabs, and every place having good tea and knowing to serve it with milk.

        I missed big bookstores–but now I miss Hay-on-Wye. I missed grocery stores being open all day and all night on Sundays, and I missed restaurants being open between 2 and 7 p.m., but now I miss pub food and pasties and proper chips soaked in vinegar.

        My Aspect is Desire, and my theme song holds the refrain “I want it all, and I want it now.”

  5. My father is mad about turmeric. So much so that it’s an ingredient in his breakfast oatmeal. Needless to say, my mother eats separately.

  6. dunno why…but the imagination of you in your tower..the miss rapunzel meets the bronte-esque lady on her wild island…somehow mixed up in my head with one of my favourite songs..and in my mind you became a shadow…hunting your house and leave fingerprints and stains of breath like words on the windows and in the dust on the cellar stairs…

    ps: i always loved the bronte sisters..did u know that they cared almost half their lifes for their old patronic father who lived with his daughters in an old “pfarrhaus” ( where usually the priest of a church lives)..and every night after they brought him to bed..the sisters started to walk in large circles around the dinning table…the walked and created their beautyful words…

    ..which reminds me of sharks..have you ever been to an auqrium?..the shark tank is always round…always and ever..thats because the shark is no “real” fish..he needs to swim to be able to breathe (thats why they never really sleep)…and so they keep them in round tanks so the shark feels like he is in an endless area..which keeps him from stop swimming and then dying…

    …the brontes where such passionet creatures…do you think that had died if they had stopped to circle around the table/writing?

    xxx

    danielle

    • Ah… this is such a lovely image, Danielle, of the Brontes. It’s one of those ones that will be winding it way around my brain for a very long time! And, yes, funny enough, I have a thing for sharks. I never knew that about the round tanks though. That’s fantastic.

      Best, s.

  7. […] the table/writing?” I have to be incestuous here, and point to Danielle’s comment on my Bronte post. It’s just fantastic. (Danielle, by the way, is a fantastic writer but I don’t get to […]

  8. shanna germain you really make me blush! šŸ™‚ to read that i m a fantastic writer ( you wrote it..did you? or was that just me and my deserved halluzinations??) is great..especially i had a mean critic a while ago…

    true i write most of my stories in german..but this is about to change…i had the luck that a few really great editors as for example sacchi green and neil plakcy were willing to work with me..to do some editing on my stories, clean out my mistakes and help me to make my work available for more readers ..which makes me so fucking happy…so i hope you can read more of my stuff in future…as long there are more editors who like my work and want to work with me i ll keep on writing in english too

    xxx

    danielle


Leave a Reply

Categories

