Posted by: Shanna Germain | 06/16/2009

Pg. 77: Into the Woods

Stats:

  • Weather: So, so gorgeous. Sunshiney. No midgies.
  • Mileage: Almost six? Maybe? Maybe not quite.
  • Discovery: I can’t tell if I’m a little lonely here, or just enjoying my reclusiveness.
  • Media: “Be Prepared,” from the fantastic movie, Hoodwinked. I am so simple… I laugh every time. Don’t even get me started on the Lumberjack song. Damn. (And look, it’s my friend Pix!!!)
  • Best Thing: The invite to my grandparent’s 60th anniversary party.
  • Worst Thing: That I won’t be able to go to said party.
  • Quote of the Day: “Do ya know anyting bout flowers?” asked by the adorable, laughing threesome of old men who were hiking the same path I was.
  • Word of the Day: Failing means yer playin! An old saying that basically means it’s okay to fail because at least you’re trying.

*

One of my favorite musicals of all time is Into the Woods. Have you ever seen it? It’s a confused, convoluted, confounding retelling of about a million fairy tales mixed together. It was probably the second musical I ever saw, after Les Mis, and I was enthralled and enamored.

I’ve always had a thing for fairy tales. For a long time, the feminist in me hated everything they stood for. “Happy ending, my ass.” “Kiss the handsome prince… Whatever.” Then, I looked at their original versions, behind the Disney, even behind the Grimm retellings, back to the oral tales where they began. And I realized how dark and bloody the originals were, and I began to like them all over again. Since then, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with fairy tales — I think this is true of most writers — but more and more, I’m sliding over to the love side. Between musicals and movies like “Into the Woods” and “Hoodwinked”, retold versions of the old classic tales of girls with glass slippers and fishes with rings, and my own writings, I’ve discovered a great deal to like about and explore within the genre.

There’s a section in “Into the Woods,” where a little red riding hood-esque girl must go off into the woods. To make herself less scared, she sings, “The way is clear/The light is good/I have no fear/Nor no one should/The woods are just trees/The trees are just wood.”

That’s a little how I felt today, venturing back into the woods for the first time since I got bit by a tick and knocked on my ass. I was nervous, ducking low beneath hanging branches, staying far away from weeds and grass on either side. It’s an odd feeling, and one I don’t like much, this nervousness of the woods. In that regard, I’ve always been a girl of fairy tales — I’ve always loved the wooded places of the world, the trees and barks and mosses, the way shade dapples and light splays. I want to see bears and wolves, discover old cabins with wise crones and lick peppermint candy window panes. I want to meet winged doves that turn to brothers and help a fish back into the river so he’ll grant me a wish…

Maybe someday all those things will happen. In the meantime, I’ll just start at this beginning, the place where the fear is beginning to recede and the path is stretched out before me.

Once upon a time, there was a girl in Scotland…

The way is clear, s.

*

“Use the hood, Red! Use the hood!” ~Granny, from Hoodwinked

Responses

  1. So not fair. I’m not twitchy. Totally can’t run that fast hyped up on caffine. Feels like it though but can’t!

    • It feels like it watching you… that’s all that really counts 🙂

  2. Lies. And. Slander.

    You might not be able to run that fast on coffee, but your mind certainly does. Generally into the nearest brick-wall.

    And thus, I return to my regularly scheduled lurk.

    • Pix, you notice he only comes around when he has something mean to say? I think we should gang up on him and put a stop to that… what do you say?

  3. Aww. In Pix’s defense I would have to agree that she is -not- twitchy.

    From what I recall/witnessed she’s more of a “scattered” type.

    And by the way, I for one am tired of people bitching about my shiney obsession because you know I can see them roll on the damn things.

    /huffs

  4. -wants to play with shinies again and steal all your +5 items-

    /cries


Leave a Reply

Categories

