Posted by: Shanna Germain | 06/19/2009

Pg. 80: Trail Mix

Stats:

  • Weather: Misty and windy and kick-your-ass cold. Imagine The Shipping News. The flat creaks kind of like that too.
  • Mileage: None. Other than laundry and the grocery store and the coffee shop, I sequestered myself indoors.
  • Discovery: It’s a very very small town here. Very small…
  • Media: Nanci Griffith. She just has a damn fine voice.
  • Worst Thing: I’m feeling a little bit of a relapse, which sucks. Mostly achy joints. Still, it’s very very mild, comparatively, and I’m not about to complain.
  • Best Thing: Talking to my dad today. He makes me laugh, and I’m so grateful that we’ve become as close as we have as I’ve gotten older (this is true of my whole family, actually).
  • Quote of the Day: With my dad: “I’m doing physical therapy for a torn rotator cuff.”  “Oh, no. Are you in pain?” “No.” “Well, how’d you know to go to the doctor?” “I went to get my pinkie checked out.”  Oh. Of course.
  • Word of the Day: Greet. Cry.

*

For a few days, I’ve been meaning to write about my recent walk with a friend along the sea. A new friend, actually. Well, to be honest, a friend’s mum who I’ve only just met. But the things I love about her daughter are the same things I like about her: thoughtful, creative, kind, inspiring, thought-provoking, open-minded, aware of the natural word, aware of the cultural world and, of course, a walker. So I don’t feel too forward calling her a current and future friend.

A few days ago, she (I’ll call her C, to protect the innocent. Which, is her, not me 🙂 ) called me on my cell and woke me up. Of course, she asked, “Did I wake you up?” to which I, of course, said, “Oh no.” She asked if I’d be willing to meet her at the nearby coffee shop, a get-to-know you kind of meeting, in say, an hour? To which I stumbled from bed without my contacts in, still talking on my cell, and flicked the hot water switch on. It takes about an hour for the water to heat enough for a shower, so I said “How about an hour and a half?” and then I stumbled back to bed while the water heated.

I rose about an hour later, hit the shower… and, oh hell. Got blasted in the face with a stream of seriously cold water. Usually, it takes a few minutes to warm up. So I stood there. And stood there. My breath quick and harsh, wondering why it wasn’t warming up. Also, wondering what I was supposed to do if the hot water heater was broken in this flat that I didn’t even know who owned.

It never did heat up. So, needless to say, I had a thirty-second shower, during which I washed all vital and dirty parts of my body with a few gasps and swears. Namely, “Ah, fuck! Fuck! Gah!”

I shivered myself off, and then stepped into the kitchen.

Only to be flooded with bright light. I had, in my dream-ridden and half-asleep state, turned on the kitchen light instead of the water heater. Uh-huh. Don’t ever let it be said that my need for morning coffee is questionable.

I made it to the coffee shop on time, dressed in about sixteen layers to ward off the shower-chill, and had a fantastic conversation with C. “Shall we walk tomorrow?” she asked, and I said “That sounds great,” mentally vowing to make myself wake up early and actually turn the hot water on this time.

The next morning, she picked me up in her car — her car! How long it’s been since I sat in a car, felt it rumble beneath me! I wanted to stick my head out the window like a dog, panting, my ears flopping in the wind. The walk was glorious, as was the weather and the company. We talked of all manner of things, she took me around the whole island in her car, introduced me to half the town, and then deposited me back home, weary and exhalted. I felt like I’d been on a great adventure — which probably just goes to show how very small my world has become here. Which is not at all a bad thing.

Far and really, really fast, s.

*

“In less enlightened times, the best way to impress women was to own a hot car. But women wised up and realized it was better to buy their own hot cars so they wouldn’t have to ride around with jerks.” ~Scott Adams

Responses


  1. Another damn fine voice

    Many years ago I was in London and met a couple of chaps there. We ventured to Picadilly and purchased a wee bit of something to smoke and liberate our creative juices. Late at night we jumped the six foot fence to Hyde Park and smoked our stuff through a pipe made of an apple
    Then ate the apple as if to hide the evidence). As we jumped the fence to exit the last chap over tore the heel from his boot. It was a bit nippy (November) and after examining his boot he said
    “The hell with this, I’m going to Spain to get my boot fixed). Boots of Spanish Leather.

  2. sounds like a perfect beginning:-)..it such a good thing a meet new friends..to discover new people and new places…humans and places who become a importortant part of your life…sometimes..at night..i lay awake and think of all the people and places i still dont know but which already excist somewhere outhere…and which will be part of my life one day…some day….soon?


Leave a Reply

Categories

