Posted by: Shanna Germain | 06/30/2009

Pg. 91: Crabs & Jellies

IMG_2717

This little guy was swept up on the beach today. He was gorgeous among all the pebbled stones and sea glass.

*

Stats:

  • Weather: Beautiful and tropical, with a gorgeous day of sun.
  • Mileage: Couple. Mostly shell-hunting up and down the beach.
  • Discovery: Everyone strips when it gets warm here. I mean, I’m still in my winter jacket and they have tube tops and short shorts on.
  • Media: True Blood.
  • Worst Thing: I don’t have any summer clothes. Well, I have one dress and one tank top.
  • Best Thing: I am finally, finally feeling better. Yah!
  • Quote of the Day: “I got bit by a tick in my cleavage.” Ow.
  • Word of the Day: “I wouldn’t break up with that.” Meaning, I think, something along the lines of “That sounds like a good idea.”

*

It was a joy kind of day.

Good writing done. A fine mocha at the local coffee shop. A leisurely stroll on the beach in the seashine and sunshine, polished glass and honed stones and smoothed shells. Crawling snails and bubbling ocean waves and wiggly jellyfish. More writing. After that, a walk with a friend, her laughter and her gorgeous bike basket filled with library books. A yummy dinner of fish and fruit. A quiet, shy sunset that was more grey than golden.

I am feeling almost well again. Enough to laugh and exude joy and bubble with energy. Enough to dip my feet in the shiftng waves. Hope rises on the horizon. It is bright and bold as a new day.

Far and fast, s.

*

IMG_2719

Jelly fish (that thing that looks like big, clear gelatinous bubbles all the way on the left), plus seaweed and kelp. It was salad bar out there today.

*

“Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air…”  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Responses

  1. Yay! Seashine and bubbling hope! So glad you’re feeling better. I can smell the salty sea air. We’re heading to the coast at Newport this weekend and I’m so looking forward to dipping my fingertips into tide-pools and hunting for beach treasures.

    Toodles!!!

    • Ooh, thanks baby! Pluck a starfish for me!! 🙂

  2. \o/ I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    xoxo

    • Oh, gods, me too! Thanks so so much, Annie! Misses, s.

  3. […] June 30: Actually wrote the words, “I am almost feeling well again.“ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

