Posted by: Shanna Germain | 07/03/2009

Pg. 94: Shining

IMG_1421

Stats:

  • Weather: Just like this.
  • Mileage: Four. Holy wow! I must be feeling better!
  • Discovery: It can thunder here. Wow, can it.
  • Media: The Cannea Sutra: The Scots “Joy of Sex”, by Rypert Besley
  • Worst Thing: I went for an evening stroll and apparently forgot to take off the “Free Midgie Night: All You Can Eat” sign off my forehead.
  • Best Thing: Bats in the belfry. I’ll write about those tomorrow.
  • Quote of the Day: “You can sit with Shanna. She’s pleasant. Mostly.”
  • Word of the Day: “Muldoon’s Picnic.” A social event which seems chaotic. AKA Cluster-fuck.

*

Last night I dreamed of Manderly…

Or, Bute…

Or, as Dracojac (a Bute native who now lives on Tenerife) says, “Last night I dreamt of Bute again…and the haunted hotel on the hill.”

He goes on to say:

The Shining is the scariest book that I’ve ever read and the reason it reminds me of Bute is for the same reason that the book terrified me. At the time I read it a thousand years ago I was an impressionable youth working as a night porter in a grand old Victorian hotel which dominated the hillside overlooking Rothesay Bay.

As if choosing a book like The Shining to keep me company in the dead of night wasn’t foolhardy enough, at the time I read the book the hotel was closed for the winter and most of the lights were turned off to save on the electricity bills. Part of my job involved walking the corridors with a flashlight to make sure everything was in order….

[Read the rest of his delightful post on his blog.]

The interesting bit about all of this is that the hotel that was used in the original movie version of The Shining was the Timberline Lodge on Mount Hood, in Oregon. As often as I went to Timberline, I never got a creepy feel from it. The place is too clean, too open, too white, oddly enough, with all that snow, for me to feel nervous there. (I should add that I never spent the night there, so perhaps my perception is skewed, however!).

Now, I don’t know which hotel Dragojac is talking about for sure here on Bute, but if I had to guess, I’d say it was the hulking, and very popular monstrosity in the photo above. There’s something grand and old and, yes, a bit scary about it. But then I’ve only ever seen it from the outside. It’s a popular place — there’s almost always a bus or two in front of it, and it looks down over the harbor like a Grand Dame, watchful and enticing and dangerously tilted and slightly repoachful.

Of course, now that I’ve read his description, I must go see it for myself. Room 201. The Elvis bathroom. The walls and ceilings and dining rooms that carry, if not actual ghosts, then the ghosts of everything and everyone that’s walked its halls and eaten its food and slept beneath its roof.

Far and fast, s.

*

“Some places are like people: some shine and some don’t.” ~The Shining, Stephen King

Responses

  1. I thought it was the Stanley Hotel in CO? Oh well they said ‘inspirational’ not actual according to the website.

  2. You’re totally right… The Stanley -was- the inspiration for the book.

    Not sure why they shot it in Oregon instead.

    Some cool tidbits from Wiki though (if you scroll down to Production)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Shining_(film)

  3. I should add.. that I add odd dreams about hotels last night. They weren’t scary… I don’t think. But they were surely weird.

  4. You’re spot on, it was the grand old dame, The Glenburn.

    Love your description of its position…it’s perfect.

    I could be wrong, but I think that before it was a hotel it was a health sanitorium which fuelled my imagination relating to the amount of people who had passed away there leaving behind their traces…

    I’m looking forward to hearing whether you find it scary or not – but, you’ll have to sneak in in the middle of the night to meet some of the less solid residents.

  5. […] “…it looks down over the harbor like a Grand Dame, watchful and enticing and dangerously tilted … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

