Posted by: Shanna Germain | 07/12/2009

Pg. 103: Please, No More Food…

IMG_3059

Weinerschnitzel in mushroom sauce, huge fries, salad and bread. Cost: About seven euro. And sixteen pounds. Of weight, not Scottish money.

*

Stats:

  • Weather: Pouring. Cats and dogs. And frogs and bats. I have a new umbrella. Thank goodness.
  • Mileage: Eyns. (Two)
  • Food: Don’t lick the pictures please.
  • Discovery: If I thought Scottish food was enough to make one gain a hundred pounds, I can’t imagine what German food can do.
  • Media: Lost. I haven’t watched it yet, but I’m going to.
  • Best Thing: The apartment has a washing machine.
  • Best Thing: The washing machine is in German. I can’t make it work… It only wants to spin my clothes at a hundred miles an hour without putting any water on them.
  • Word of the Day: Der Herr übernimmt die Rechnung. That guy will pay for everything.

*

Germany is making me fat. Okay, maybe it’s not Germany. Maybe it’s Germany’s food. Every menu has lots of choices, of course. I don’t know what my issue is.

Let’s see, there’s schnitzel, wienerschnitzel, bratwurst, sausage, beef stew, ribs. In cream sauce, in cream and mushroom sauce, in cream and pepper sauce, in cream and paprika sauce. With fries. With fried potatoes. With potato wedges smothered in cheese. For a side, there’s bread. And thicker bread. And bread smothered in garlic butter. (That’s healthy, right?) For dessert, there’s ginormous sundaes and tiramisu and cheesecake.

Oh, please. I would kill for a vegetable, unsmothered in anything. I wonder how you say that in German…

Far and fast, s.

*

IMG_3061

Sundaes at the “ice cafe.” I swear, every one was as big as my head. And I have a big head.

*

“Vegetables are interesting but lack a sense of purpose when unaccompanied by a good cut of meat.”  ~Fran Lebowitz

Responses

  1. YUM! Those pics look amazing. Enjoy Germany!

    http://shefit.wordpress.com

  2. Holy fuck! I licked the pictures. Sorry. You made me do it.

  3. okay, that does look good but I know what you mean, being mostly german and having survived many cookouts – there comes a time when all you want is a god forsaken stalk of celery or a baby carrot.

    Good luck finding one, you’ll probably scratch something that will get you another warning /giggle

    Good thing I’m not there, I’d probably grab something inappropriate under the guise of asking what IS appropriate…

    This is why I can’t leave the states 🙂

  4. Well, now. That would make a -wonderful- martini glass.

    Arteries be damned, German food has a worthwhile flavor, even if it is deep-fried death, mostly.

  5. […] See the original post: Pg. 103: Please, No More Food… « Chapter 37 […]

    • ^_^


Leave a Reply

Categories

