Posted by: Shanna Germain | 07/24/2009

Pg. 115: Scottish Scallops

IMG_2886

Scottish scallops, raw and fresh out of the ocean. Awaiting their transformation into something edible.

*

You can’t live for very long on an island without exploring some of the seafood. (Or at least, you shouldn’t live on one very long without exploring the seafood — unless you’re allergic, in which case, forget everything I just said!). The Isle of Bute offers some amazing salmon, trout, lobster, crab, oysters and various other fish, shellfish and seafood.

Today’s kitchen experiment is Scottish Scallops. Although I like scallops, I have to admit that I’ve never cooked them before. Like so much seafood, I seem to forgot that I can prepare it at home, and so I only order it when I go out. Which, it turns out is a mistake, as scallops are incredibly easy to cook, and taste even more yummy when they’re fresh from the fishmonger and then thrown into pan.

A few things you should know about scallops before you try them.

ABOUT SCALLOPS

Scallops are similar to muscles and oysters, and are usually found on muddy or sandy sea beds.

The edible part of the scallop is the whitish adductor muscle (what you typically see in restaurants) and orange/coral part (which you can see in the pictures). This part, which I have to admit I’ve never seen before, is actually the scallop roe. While the white part tends to have an almost meat-like texture with a mild, sweet flavor, the coral section is more creamy, with a stronger, richer flavor.

Scallops aren’t just delicious. They’re also excellent sources of protein, vitamin B12, calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, zinc and copper.

BUYING & STORING

Look for scallops that are firm, off-white or cream colored, and moist. They’re really tender, so try to use them as soon as possible.

GET COOKING

I found lots of recipes online for scallops, including a yummy-sounding warm salad of scallops and bacon and pan-fried scallops with lime and coriander, but I opted for something very simple, that would bring out the flavor of the scallops without detracting from it.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Scallops (it was just for me, so double or triple ingredients according to party size)
  • Butter
  • 4 Fresh Garlic Cloves
  • Chopped Parsley (optional)

How To:

  1. Mince garlic cloves. I used one for each scallop, but I like things garlicky.
  2. Heat enough butter in the pan to coat the bottom. Use a medium-high heat.
  3. When it’s hot and bubbling, add the garlic. Stir so that the garlic browns evenly but doesn’t burn.
  4. Add the scallops. Cook them on one side for two to three minutes.
  5. Flip. The bottoms should now be nicely browned. Cook until the scallops are opaque. Don’t overcook! It will make them tough.
  6. When done, pour scallops and butter sauce into a bowl. Top with chopped parsley if you like.

IMG_2891 2

Oysters bubbling in their garlic and butter sauce.

*

IMG_2902

Dinner is served! Yum!

*

Wish you were all here to share it with me! Or, at least, to sit here and watch me eat!

Far and fast, s.

*

“Scallops are expensive, so they should be treated with some class. But then, I suppose that every creature that gives his life for our table should be treated with class.” ~Jeff Smith, The Frugal Gourmet

Responses

  1. I love scallops and cook them every now and then, but I’ve never seen ones with the roe part. Looks delish!

    • Ooh, Robin, you have to try them! The roe part is… kind of an interesting texture. But it’s so yummy and creamy!

  2. Fresh scallops. *cries*!

    • -covers her eyes and ears-

      Oooh, poor baby. How about some cheese… er… coffee… er… gah, what can you eat?!

      I know!

      -gives her the rest of her yogurt-

  3. criestoo*

    i wantttttt scallopssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

  4. As a foodie, couple of comments

    1. Scallops can be eaten raw. When I but them in a market I eat one raw, if it is good raw, it will be delicious when cooked with whatever flavoring you desire.

    2. Treat them gently. Just cook them long enough to get them warm all the way through. You said two to three minutes, I might go one to two minutes depending on how high the heat. After all, they could be eaten raw.

    3. Yum, they look and I’m sure taste wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

