Posted by: Shanna Germain | 08/04/2009

Pg. 126: I’m On A Boat

IMG_4053

Boat launch for the Bute Raft Race.

*

Stats:

  • Weather: Stormy. Grey. Gorgeous, but I think I’ll stay inside.
  • Mileage: Three-ish.
  • Food: Pork. Broccoli.
  • Discovery: My camera has a videocorder. Ahem. So I took video, but haven’t quiet figured out how to upload it yet. Soon, though, I promise.
  • Media: I’m on a boat, on a boat, on a m-f-ing boat!
  • Best Thing: I. have. coffee!!!! Thank you Tracy!
  • Word of the Day: Bite someone’s ear. To ask them for a favor, as in, “Hey, see that guy with the boat? Could ye bite his ear fur a ride?”

*

I’ve decided I need to go out on a boat here in Rothesay. It just looks like too much fun. Okay, I do not want to go out in one of the boats from any of these pictures of the Bute Raft Race (go here to check out the details, and to see the way better pictures of the race than I got). But I want to go out on one of the sailboats, or one of the canoes, or even one of those medium-sized fishing boats that look so perfect and serene out there on the water.

Sadly, I don’t know anyone here who owns a boat. Which, I guess, I’m going to have to fix. Sooner than later.

-goes off to bite someone’s ear about getting them to let her take a ride in their boat-

Far and fast, s.

*

IMG_4056

Boats on the water. Yes, those ones that look like they’re sinking… really are.

*

IMG_4059

Those guys that look like they’re in pink? I thought they were big pink bunny rabbits at first. Turns out they’re just the (as the back of their boat reads), “Scottish Space Program.” The name of their team? Appalling 13.

*

“A lot of people ask me if I were shipwrecked and could only have one book, what would it be? I always say, “How to Build a Boat.” ~Stephen Wright

Responses

  1. oh shanna ..let me come on board..its so much fun and i havent been raft racing in aggggggeeeees..:-)

    • Woo! Come on in! We’ll sink that puppy for sure 🙂

  2. Hahaha.. looks like fun!

    • Or wet. Or both, truly… They do often go hand-in-hand, don’t they? 😛

  3. I would wager, if you set your mind to it, you could be on a sailboat by sunset, which is a wonderful time to be on a sailboat. I prefer a boat ride where my thoughts are distracted by the sound of a motor. (Although sometimes it is fun to go really FAST)


Leave a Reply

Categories

