Posted by: Shanna Germain | 08/21/2009

Pg. 142: Pork, It’s What’s For Dinner

IMG_4919_2

*

One of the things I’ve discovered about myself lately — and this is a new thing — is that I suck at following recipes. I also suck at actually having recipes. And at having ingredients on hand for said recipes.

This never used to be true. When I first started cooking, I had to follow a recipe exactly. I would decide what I was going to make, and then I would go to the store with my shopping list and I would buy each ingredient. If the store didn’t have the ingredient, I would panic and get myself all worked up into a frenzy. I mean, after all, how can you possibly make parsnip, lentil, carrot and pea soup if you can’t find a single pea? Back then, I probably would have started over.

But now, I tend to wing everything I cook. It’s certainly less stressful that way and, surprisingly, things tend to turn out almost as tasty. This week’s ‘wing-it’ recipe involved me looking at my fridge, saying, “Hm, what’s in here?” Of course, it’s not a very big fridge (it’s about a quarter of the size a ‘normal’ fridge), so the answer usually is “hardly anything.”

Here’s what I had in the fridge and cupboard this week:

  • Four boneless pork chops
  • Garlic cloves
  • An onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Chicken stock
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes

Here’s what I did with them:

  1. Layered the pork chops in flour and fried them in olive oil until the outsides were just cooked and crisped.
  2. In a stock pan, sauteed garlic and onions until they were soft, then added the mushrooms, some herbs and salt and pepper.
  3. Once the mushrooms were browned, I threw in the chicken stock (just a couple of cups), the chopped parsley, and the pork (which I cut into bite-sized pieces).
  4. While the stew simmered (I left it on for about twenty minutes or so, until it was almost the consistency of gravy), I boiled the potatoes. Then I mashed the potatoes with just a bit of milk.

To serve, I made a “bowl” out of the mashed potatoes and then ladled the pork stew into the center of the potatoes. Delish! Perfect for a cold, windy, rainy day. And it made enough for at least four meals, maybe more.

What are you cooking (or eating) these days?

Far and fast, s.

*

“Recipe: A series of step-by-step instructions for preparing with ingredients you forgot to buy, using utensils you don’t own, to make a dish even the dog won’t eat” ~Unknown

Responses

  1. looks good and nummy and I agree, winging it is sometimes more fun.

    lets see… Wednesday night I made grilled sandwiches (smoked turkey, honey ham, provalone and cheddar cheese on herbed garlic sourdough bread) it was delish

    Tonight I’m making roast chicken with roasted veggies… Sunday is meatloaf with mashed potatoes.

    I think I’m making brats on Saturday if i remember to pick up charcoal for the grill.

    /huggles

  2. Oh my god! I AM coming to live with you! YUM!

  3. i wish i d eat pork..since that looks very delicious…:-)))


Leave a Reply

Categories

