Posted by: Shanna Germain | 08/28/2009

Pg. 149: Chanterelles

IMG_5243

Lots and lots of gorgeous Chanterelle mushrooms, picked on the isle by Friend C.

*

Let’s just say this right up front: Whatever you think about fungus, mushrooms are yummy. If you don’t agree with that statement, you won’t want to read the rest of today’s post.

The isle has a lot of mushrooms. Scotland in general has a lot of mushrooms. I don’t know enough about them to pick them on my own, so I’m am grateful to Friend C. who knows a lot about mushrooms, and almost guaranteed me that the ones she gave me were not false chanterelles (which, for the record, would not make me die, they would just make me hallucinate).

Here is a whole bunch of great information about chanterelles, including a bit about “the trumpet of death,” which I have never had, but which I now want to eat, just because it has such a great name.

Cooking chanterelles is best done very, very simply, because it is easy to overwhelm their delicate flavor (white wine or garlic, for example). Probably the easiest way to cook them is to just saute them in butter. Then serve them over just about anything: chicken or pasta are great choices.

And, like anything else, they are best eaten with friends. Like these were.

Far and fast, s.

IMG_5262

IMG_5265_2

*

Responses

  1. I love chanterelles! There was a spot not too far from our house in Oregon that had the most wonderful “stand” of chanterelles each year – they were huge. We also have them up in Maine on our property – which I was thrilled to discover.

    Yum yum yum

    • Ooh, yum! I’ve never, ever picked mushrooms. I guess I’m too scared I’ll feed myself something poisonous and life-ending! Which, I suppose would be worth it if they tasted REALLY amazing! 🙂

  2. Trumpet of Death – that’s awesome. I want to have one, just so I can say I did.

  3. i love them too..actually they are my favorite mushrooms…they taste actually with anything good..yum yum yum indeed

  4. I would be afraid to pick mushrooms too – I get confused easily and probably end up puking followed by death in which I would be found in a pool of puke.

    On that note, I was thinking about sauted chanterelles in butter over some linquine noodes with a bit of italian parsely until I wrote the previous paragraph and lost my appetite.

    Damn my overactive imagination.

    /huggles

  5. Lucky you! Your chanterelles look delicious. Yum! Probably my favourite mushroom….

    After picking some nice ones near Aviemore in August, my wife and I spent three weeks on Bute where we went out searching regularly… and found only one tiny wee chanterelle! But your picture gives me hope. Maybe next year….


Leave a Reply

Categories

