Posted by: Shanna Germain | 09/07/2009

Pg. 159: Bye-Bye Baby

IMG_5520

*

Today was spent doing a final clean of the flat, putting the finishing touches on my packing, and then taking the ferry-train-bus-taxi trip to the hotel near the Glasgow airport. So, here I am. Travelodge. I have a TV, for the first time in six months. It’s… odd. The commercials are making me crack up like an idiot, but perhaps that’s just because the UK commercials are pretty funny anyway.

Tomorrow is going to be a long, long day. I leave here early, land in Philly for a five-hour layover, and then reach the west coast around 10 PM, pick up the rental car and drive to a friend’s house to crash on her couch. My brain’s going to think it’s 6 AM, so I think the jet lag is going to be my unwelcome friend for a day or so.

I loved Scotland, in many ways. I can’t write about them now, because it’s all kind of bittersweet, and it’s late and I really can’t think. I’m sure I’ll come up with something in the next few weeks and months, as I look back on where I’ve been and where I’ve gone.

Until then, Portland here I come! I’m hoping for slanted sunshine and honeycrisp apples and running on the beach and veggie pizza and soy mochas and sex toy stores and Powell’s books and friends with dogs and babies. And… oh, on and on and on! Ill let you know what I discover, of course. As soon as the jet lag wears off, and I can think again…

Far and fast, s.

*

Responses

  1. Have a safe trip!

  2. Has it been six months? It seems like yesterday you were telling me about your trip.

    Welcome back to the states – kick back and enjoy a nice soy mocha latte.

    Though the cup won’t be as cool as the ones in Scotland.

    /snuggles


Leave a Reply

Categories

