Posted by: Shanna Germain | 09/21/2009

Pg. 165: A World Away

sept 14  2009 marcy dam

*

Pictures today from my beloved daddio and his recent hike near Mt. Marcy in the Adirondacks. He sent me these pictures via email and I just about had a heart attack because they’re so gorgeous and because I had an instant and fierce ping of missing New York.

I wrote him back and said, “Can I use these pictures on the blog? And is there anything you want to say about them?”

He responded with two more pictures and this note:

1/2 mile hike from car to below sign post.
another 2.3 miles to camp site at marcy dam w/ full packs.
5.3 miles from marcy dam to mount marcy summit.

Which I, of course, took as a “yes, you can use my pictures.” So here they are. They make me miss my childhood.

Far and fast, s.

*

sept 14  2009 summit

Responses

  1. Oh, you’re breaking my heart! It doesn’t look like I’m going to be able to get home to the Adirondacks until November, when all the fiery leaves will be gone. ::wails::

  2. wish that you could have hiked with me.
    glorious day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

