Posted by: Shanna Germain | 10/22/2009

Pg. 176: Votes Are In

Picture 6

*

So, the poll is officially closed!

And the winners are:

  • Northampton, Mass.
  • Asheville, NC
  • Ithaca, NY

Of course, as I was talking to my dad during the poll, I quizzed him.

“Did you vote for Ithaca?” This is the town I grew up in, and where my parents still live.

“Noooooo…” he says in that voice which really means “yes.” I can’t imagine where I got that from.

“Really?”

“Really. I didn’t. Your mom did though.”

I believed him. After all, this is what children do, yes? Believe their parents when they tell them something. Silly me.

Because about five seconds later, he mentions something about how it only let him vote once. Why am I not surprised?

“Uh-huh,” I said. “I did that specifically because of you.”

So, my parents stuffed the ballot box. It’s true.

*

A friend of mine recently asked, “Are you really going to let someone else decide where you live?”

“Yeah,” I said. “Is that insane?”

Total and complete silence on the other end of the phone.

So apparently that’s a yes.

*

My plan?

I don’t have one.

You shouldn’t be surprised by this.

Okay, okay, I have the beginning of a plan. But it’s all contingent on work and money and how well I can genuflect and beg my friends to let me continue being a tick crashing on their couches. The thought is that once the winter weather leaves the eastern hemisphere (*cough cough hack hack* sometime in July! *cough hack*) — no, really, I’m thinking early next year, I’ll travel eastward, check out the top three cities and make a decision.

In the meantime, I’ve got some plans to bounce around. See some more of the glorious US.

Yes, this really is insane, isn’t it?

*

IMG_0865

I started the post with my dad, and I want to end with my dad, even though this bit doesn’t have anything at all to do with travel.

Actually, it has everything to do with travel.

My dad is my hero. You may have figured this out already, just by the way I talk about him. But he really and truly is. He raised me as a single dad (until my fantabulous stepmom came along), he taught me to go after what I wanted (which he probably has regretted doing every single day since I turned 15), he lent me many of his values and loves, and he’s always, always, always been there for me, without question or guilt or judgment (okay, probably he’s had all of those things but he’s kept them to himself, which is really sweet of him and probably required more self-control than I could ever imagine). In the end, he convinced me I could do absolutely anything I wanted to if I put my mind to it (I’m sure he’s come to regret this as well!), whether it be playing on the boy’s soccer team in high school, joining the volunteer fire department, making my living as a writer or traveling the world in the most unconventional way possible.

Happy (belated) birthday, Daddio. You’re not old. Yet. But I’m sure doing my best to make you feel like you are, aren’t I?

Far and fast (and with big-big love), s.

**

Two little girls, on their way home from Sunday school, were solemnly discussing the lesson. “Do you believe there is a devil?” asked one. “No,” said the other promptly.  “It’s like Santa Claus:  it’s your father.” ~Ladies’ Home Journal, quoted in 2,715 One-Line Quotations for Speakers, Writers & Raconteurs by Edward F. Murphy

Responses

  1. When you get to Asheville I’ll come over and take you farther up in the mountains where I like to hang out. It’s a bit like being in Costa Rica without leaving the US.

  2. How the fuck did Boulder fall off the poll?

    Regardless. Land safe and land well, friend, and enjoy your travels.

    Peace,
    A

  3. /hug

    Yay for awesome dads!

    Two things my dad is wont to say:

    I will always be his little girl, no matter how old or how many children I have

    and

    He will always love me, no matter what. Even if it’s the worse thing in the word and against every fiber of his beliefs – he will -always- love me. *

    *which means he may not agree with what I did, may in fact ask for harsher penalties because I was -not- raised that way, and I may be subject to major ass chewing but he is only doing it for my own good and that he still loves me.

  4. Hahaha… I’m sure your dad has as many regrets with the “do whatever makes you happy and I will still love you” speech as my dad has. *grins* but they’re awesome aren’t they? Really, I don’t care how old you get… you will always be daddy’s little girl, and he will always make the hurts go away, even if for just a little while.

    Or go completely psychotic and yell and cuss like a sailor because the people who hurt you are still able to walk, and only because he can’t get to them. Dad’s are weird…

    Well, my dad is weird but what’d you expect? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

