Posted by: Shanna Germain | 01/29/2010

Pg. 197: Lost Redux

Birds’ nests in trees. I missed getting a picture of the turtle, because he got scared of me and my lostness.

*

I got lost yesterday. It’s been a long time since that happened. After all, it’s pretty hard to get lost in a city, even one the size of Forth Worth. But I managed it. Shocker, I know. See, there’s this pretty park that follows the river. It’s between the coffee shop and the couch, the two places where I spend most of my time. I like to walk it when I have time, but it’s a winding convoluted park that borders apartment complexes and houses and I don’t know what all else. There are little maps on signs, but they confuse those of us who aren’t good at GPSing our way through things. Mainly because the part that says “You Are Here” is rather big and the part that says, “Go here,” doesn’t point in the real direction one is supposed to go (like, for example, if you wanted to go straight ahead, the sign tells you to go sort of southwest). Also, the sign is designed by someone using drugs who is also sleep-deprived, because there is a lot of Point A, Point B, Point 4 stuff going on. So if you want to get from Point A to Point 20, you must stop at Points L, 11 and Apple in between. It breaks my brain (pictures of this map-mess to come, next time it stops raining long enough for me to trudge back into the Land of the Lost).

Thus, I found myself wandering around, trying to make my way from the coffee shop where I’d started to the couch where I wanted to end up. The walk is usually about an hour, as the crow doesn’t fly (meaning: main roads), but it also is loud, dirty, car- and catcall-filled, and boring. Enter park.

Exit part. After 80 minutes of walking and … where was I? Two blocks away from where I’d entered said park. I walked for an hour and a half and landed, yes, two blocks away from the path where I’d started. The only good news was that I was on a street I knew, and the bus was destined to arrive in less than five minutes.

The park was cool, by the way. I saw a turtle treading water in the runoffy, manmade river, as well as some geese and ducks. A nice man jogged by me and said hello. I found a “lake” with a big fountain in the middle of it and a playground. I got a solid walk in, even if the last twenty minutes of it were marred by my concern that I was not going to find my way home. And, I made the bus just in time.

I miss getting lost. There’s something awesome and incredibly comforting about the moment that comes after, that joyous moment of “I know where I am!” And at least temporarily feeling like, yes, you do know not only where you are, but where you are going.

Far and fast, s.

*

Responses

  1. Reminds me of some of your Scotland walk stories!

  2. Sounds like some of that good karma hard at work for you!

    • Hahaha! The getting lost part? Probably! 🙂

  3. NO!!!

    The I found my way out part!

    One of my favorite phrases…I don’t know where I’m going but I’m on my way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

