Posted by: Shanna Germain | 02/11/2010

Pg. 199: Almost 200?

For want of a better title (and a picture), the blog post was lost? Nah, not really. Instead, I give you this video of “Long Time Traveller” from the Wailin’ Jennys, shot in Portland.

*

So, I have arrived in Portland. Green. Green. Joyous Green. I had forgotten how I missed that smell. Pine and pungent basil and dirty, wet grass and the underhang of ferns and the moistness of moss.

I did arrive here without my camera cord, so while I’m taking lots of photos, I don’t yet have a way to download them. So I’ll have to do an “all-photos-all-the-time” post as soon as I get a cord.

In the meantime, you can catch me wandering the paths of this town, places worn-weary by my feet years ago that are now laying themselves down to my re-touch like old lovers. I’m kitty-sitting and house-sitting. I’m walking. I’m remembering what it’s like to have too many choices for good food and great coffee. I’m stuffing myself with vegetables and fish. I’m here. I’m here.

Far and fast, s.

*

I’m a long time travelling away from home
I’m a long time travelling here below
To lay this body down

~Wailin’ Jennys, Long Time Traveller

Leave a Reply

Categories

