Posted by: Shanna Germain | 02/21/2010

Pg. 202: Oregon Sunset

Sunset at the Oregon Coast, near Rockaway Beach.

*

First I came to Portland.

Then I came home.

Then I was sick.

Then I was still sick.

Then I was better.

Then I went to the Oregon Coast to teach a writing class.

Then I was much better.

Then I was standing on the edge of the world, my feet disappearing into the ocean, the sun disappearing into the ocean, my worries and fears and sickness disappearing into the ocean.

The ocean can take a lot of grief.

I heard it all night long, carrying everything I’d given it, coming back for more.

*

Far and fast, s.

Responses

  1. Glad you felt better by Rockaway Beach. That is a lovely picture.

  2. WOW. SUNSHINE!!!

    You lucky girl. It is cold here. I did just get back from Costa Rica and my house is beng built there. What a wonderful feeling…..and it was sunny for a week.

    Thanks for sharing the photos. The feeling of squishing your feet down in the wet sand at the beach makes me smile.

    All the best

    Dean

  3. Thanks, Still Life! The beach always makes me feel better 🙂

    Hi Dean! How was Costa Rica? I miss that country so much!

  4. Yowsa, that’s gorgeous! Beauty!

  5. Beautiful.

    I hope this year is settled, and resolutionary. And happy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

