Posted by: Shanna Germain | 03/14/2010

Pg. 207: Look Back


*

This is where it all began. Almost a year ago. I know it’s early to talk about this year of travel as though it’s been completed, because in truth I have one more plane ride and one more car ride to take before I land at the way-out-in-the-woods writer’s retreat that will end these twelve months. But I’m already thinking ahead, moving on to what might be next, planning. I’m a good planner.

And I’m looking back. There’s a lot of joy and excitement and love and pleasure in those backward glances. But a lot of melancholy and fear and stress and pain and life-changing-too-fast in my rearview mirror as well. It’s been a year of serious growth and stretching. And also a year of regression and shrinking. Which, I guess, is how it’s supposed to be. I am just lucky enough to have been able to write it all down so that I can look back over it and remember, and feel these things again, and be buoyed by all of you who have come along on this ride with me.

A year, when you look at it under the microscope of writing, stretches out. A year becomes a long time.  A long time to be on the road. A long time to remember. A long time to forget.

Far and fast, s.

*

“This is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.” ~Winston Churchill

Leave a Reply

Categories

