Posted by: Shanna Germain | 03/25/2010

Pg. 211: Puff the Magic

Some kind of puff-ball fungus or shroom? I’m guessing? But I have no idea what kind. Some kind of magical being of the forest, no doubt.

*

It rained today. A lot. All day. Big fat cold rain that splattered the windows and dampened the dog and made the mud slosh my galoshes.

I had fully planned to go for a hike today, to walk these woods and get to know them and speak the names of newts on the back of my tongue and whisper soft to the moss.

Instead, I mostly sat inside and watched the fire and wrote words that I didn’t know I could write. There is fat chinook salmon in the stove and dark beer in the glass and more wood for the fire. The rain and night and the words fall like stars from the mouths of gods.

Far and fast, s.

*

Responses

  1. Gin Wigmore – Dying day
    4 min 27 sec – Dec 22, 2009
    http://www.youtube.com

    • The link that WordPress ate:

      (let’s see if it works this time!)

    • So my son found some of these same mushrooms. Did you ever find out what kind they are?

  2. 🙂

    You gonna poke the mushrooms?

    Hee 😀

    • Hahaha! Do you think they’ll poke me back? It’s kinda lonely up here! 🙂

  3. if you eat it you will become very small

    te he he


Leave a Reply

Categories

