Posted by: Shanna Germain | 04/01/2010

Pg. 215: Reflections

Self-portrait with garden and mirror, taken on March 31st at the Artsprings Writing retreat in the Oregon Wilds.

*

Well, this is it, ladies and gentlemen. The semi-final post of Chapter 37 (I say semi-final for two reasons: one, it  makes me less sad and two, I plan to update here occasionally when I’m traveling around in the future). After a year’s worth of traveling, blogging, shooting photos, and writing five-minute poems, I’m closing this chapter of my life and moving on to something new.

That something new is Chapter 38, a year-long brain-bounce of learning a new thing a week! I’m so excited about this endeavor — in some ways it sure doesn’t sound as exciting as traveling for 365 days, but this is something entirely new for me, to tackle a wide variety of skills and experiences, one each week, and to share the experiences with all of you via photos, videos and text.

To those of you who’ve been with me for the last year, or even part of the last year, I can’t say thank you enough. You made it worth the work, the ride, the laughter, the pain, the “oh my god, I can’t think of anything to say.” People have said to me, “Oh, why do you give that writing away for free? You could make some money for it.” But in truth, I made so much more by sharing the experience with all of you. You bolstered me, held me up, supported me, made me laugh and gave me the courage to go on. I appreciate you more than I can say — each of you, for all you gave me this year.

As I finish up Chapter 37, I won’t say goodbye, because I hope you’ll come along with me on this new adventure! Bring your hearts and and your hands and your brains, and get ready for a whole new ride…

Far and fast and with all your synapses firing, s.

###


“All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.”  ~Anatole France

My birthday gift from A. I couldn’t resist adding it, because it’s just so perfect.

*

Responses

  1. I love your self portrait, you garden fairy.

    I’m about to start chapter 34 soon enough… and your chapter 37 has given me hope for the future of the 30something series 🙂

    I’m sorry I came to it late – or I would have coerced you into island hopping and coming to visit when you were in Scotland.

    • Thanks so much, Jo! And hurray for Chapter 34, and all that come after! And I’m not done traveling, not by a long shot. I fell in love with Scotland, and I actually have some Irish in my blood (it’s down there, squashed beneath the German and French), so I’m on my way!

  2. Chapter 37 has been one of my favorite things about the Internet this past year. I know Chapter 38–and Chapters ShannaWhicheverWhenever–will be equally enriching, delightful, and awe-inspiring.

    Thank you.

    • Oh, wow, Jeremy. That was really an awesome thing to say. Thank you.

      Wait, you can’t thank me. I’m thanking you. Stop that!

      🙂 s.

  3. As someone who is on her own Chapter 52, I have so enjoyed following you on your journey, and intend to keep tracking those footprints of yours.

    Oh, and my foot is still tapping to that song – thanks!

    • Thank you, Erobintica. I’ve loved having you here too, and loved reading your writing along the way. Keep ’em coming!

  4. Well I’m sad to see Chapter 37 go…or atleast put on pause until you travel again…BUT Chapter 38 looks like it’s gonna be a hoot, so I’m looking forward to you turning the page & letting us voyeuristically peek in!

    Love the mirrored garden pic & LOVE the Be Good Tanyas. Nice pick!

    Now get to some learning lady!

  5. Happy Birthday! I’m looking forward to following you on your next journey, Chapter 38!

  6. Keep on keepin on Shanna.

    I’m looking forward to being swept into a Chapter 38/54 of my own.

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday and thanks for your inspirations.

  7. Love the self-portrait and the journey you’ve been on…thanks for sharing it – all the words about your writing life have been so very inspiring. I look forward with great anticipation to the next chapter. All the very best with the next stage and onwards…Terri

  8. I don’t think I took the time to point out that your most amazing writing is here in your blog journals. I suspect that this is where you struggle the least and allow yourself to be the most open.

    And other than their cover of “Scattered Leaves” “Littlest Birds” is my favorite of the BGT. It breaks my heart that they are not together.

    E.


Leave a Reply

Categories

